Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Can't find VIN plate/sticker on ZX2R - help please!

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by dru, Jan 9, 2009.

1. Hey all,

I put this question up on my other thread in Bike Reviews, but it seems to have got lost in all the other posts, so I thought I might post it here instead.

I've checked out a bike (ZX2R) and all looks good on the rego paper, owner's details check out fine, REVS checks out fine as well. However, I can't seem to find the VIN plate on the bike?

Do you know where it should be located? I've checked everywhere on the frame (which I thought was where it's supposed to be) but I can't seem to find it. I know where it is on a car, but I'm a noob to bikes so I've got no idea.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Should be near the headstem.

3. Sorry, pardon my noobness, but where exactly is the headstem? hahahaha. I told you I'm pretty bad with bikes :)

4. Triple clamp which holds your handle bars. Look to the side of it on the frame.

5. Ah right.. thanks! I'll check that tomorrow when I look at the bike again. Thanks again for the quick response Envy-t.

6. oh yeah.. the other question I had was that on the rego, the VIN# didn't start with "IMP". I thought all grey imports had a VIN starting with IMP, but am I mistaken? I've owned a few grey import cars, so I thought it would be the same for bikes as well.

7. The ones I have seen including mine, have IMP stamped midway through the vin.

8. that's pretty strange then. The VIN on this (as stated on the rego) doesn't have any "IMP" at all. REVS check pulled out the record fine though. It's really weird!