Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Can't change down into first!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by parko, May 17, 2006.

1. Hi there all, I'm new to riding (7 mths now) and on a vtr250. Just wondering about an issue I sometime have trying to change down from Netural to first. Most times its all ok, but when stopped at lights, every so often, it just won't budge. I find that to make it happen I have to release the clutch (ever so slowly) while pressing down on the gear lever and it suddenly drops in (albiet with a little jerk, and a "loud" click from the gear box). Is this normal behaviour?

2. yep... its a sickening sound... its worse on the TT6 because my chain is fragged and the wet type clutch snap-grabs real REAL hard...

Is probably "hanging" between gears... I do the same thing sometimes. I tend to now down shif before stopping, you can use the engine as a brake if its not raining. Is your vt brand new? if so the gearbox needs to wear in to become silky smooth... say 6-10,000K.
  3. My vtr is not brand new, has 21K k's on it, sometimes I also find that if I try to change down to a low gear whilst going at speed it won't go down either... Is it something that will damage the bike and I should avoid doing?
  4. I've seen this from time to time on my old CB250 and also the Triumph. I assume you're in neutral when it happens? If so, let go the clutch, give the engine a little rev, should find you can then happily find first.
  5. Spectre, thx for the info, will try it next time it happens and see what happens... Am I correct in my assumtion that this appears that this is a common issue on bikes?