Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Can someone clarify positioning in a multilane road for me

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Spud Gun, Jan 19, 2005.

1. I am still learning road positioning as multilane roads seem to throw the rule book out the window. Only this morning on my way to work I saw a new Merc drift into another lane and acutally press the side of the car beside it (I don't mean wing mirrors, I mean bodywork). Where is the best place to be in a multilane environment? I assume the middle lane of a 3 lane road is out of bounds as there is too much going on. Is the centre of the lane the best position for a middle lane? In the right most lane, is it best to stay to the left or right of that lane? Would that not place me too close to oncoming traffic? :shock:

2. Best position? The furthest distance you can get from any car : )
  3. Exactly. You'll regularly, almost to teh point of constantly, change lane position in multi-lane roads during busy periods. Left of lane, right of lane, middle of lane. Whichever is the best at the time to keep the, as said, "furthest distance you can get from any car"
  4. On a freeway, the safest lane is the one closest to the dividing median strip, sure its closer to the cheese cutters but you only "need to worry" about one lane of cars that can change into your lane. The middle lane suffers from cars either side of you and the left lane suffers from merging traffic and from the right lane to you.

5. Plus you are positioned on the drivers side of any vehicle beside you, increasing you chances of being seen.