Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

NSW Can Anything be done to challenge license laws

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by autonomy, Aug 26, 2012.

1. Hi there,

this may be a stupid question, i'm gonna ask it anyway, i just want a fuller picture of motorcycle license laws.

but first, some background. i'm 32, i started riding when i was 3, continued to my early twenties. as it was mainly motorcross, i never got a road license then life & other things took over.

a few years back when the license laws were changing, i went and got my L's with the intention of bypassing that bullshit law coming in. fortunately and not so fortunately, i went to work overseas (and ride all manner of bikes) and they expired.

been back this year, and re-did my L's 3months ago, bout to get my P's and i seem to be in the boat a lot of people are in, experienced, mature, but no freedom to do what they should be able to do.

i agree with restricting bikes for learners and people under a certain age, but these laws, like the car laws are completely misguided when it comes to age.

as someone with above avg riding experience, coming up to 15 years of incident free car driving exp, i resent in the extreme being told what i can and can't do on 2 wheels.

the over 25 provision doesn't cut it, 15months minimum is nonsense nanny state bs. that should be the law for under 25's (rather than 39months). i mean i understand the difficulty in ascertaining experience/maturity/common sense levels, but how dare my freedom be restricted in such a blanket fashion.

now my question is, has anything been done to challenge these laws? is anybody trying to change them? i dont care how minimal or misguided.