Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Came Off This Evening

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Master Shake, Sep 5, 2008.

1. Hey everyone,

Despite my diminutive post count I've been a lurker here for some time now. I've had my learners license for about 2 1/2 months , and I bought my first bike (used VTR 250) about 8 weeks ago. I acknowledge that I'm still very new to everything and I have very little by way of actual riding experience but I consider myself to be a pretty good rider in the circumstances. I've ridden push bikes since I was a kid and more recently i've belted around South East Asia on motorbikes and scooters so I'm not a complete novice, not that any of this matters anyway.

I had always wondered why people recommended naked bikes for their first, because i'd been riding for these last 6-8 weeks without any drama, and perhaps foolishly, I was not able to foresee a scenario where I might possibly damage my bike, fairings or not.

Fast forward and I was coming home from Uni today (UTS Ultimo Campus) in heavy rain. No biggie I thought, i've done this before; just be careful and everything will be fine. After all i've had to endure the rain for the past month and half without any problems. So I was riding along the Western Distributor (links Anzac Bridge to Harbour Bridge) and I felt the back wheel start to skid so I slowed gradually and corrected, no problem.