Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

cagers rolling slowly forward whilst turning right..

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by kara, Mar 13, 2007.

1. hello all,
    i've been riding for over eight months now and cannot get used to cagers rolling forward as they are turning right (in front of you) when you are travelling staight.

ok, i might be paranoid but when they roll forward that indicates to me that either 1. they are impatient or 2. they haven't seen you,

my course of action has been to slow down and cover the brakes, but this gives them more time and they continue rolling. on saturday, on the south gippsland highway, a van driver rolled forward so much that i had to countersteer into the left carriage way as a car was turning into the highway...a very dangerous situation,

did i cause it because i slowed down due to the prick rolling forward as i was heading straight or am i been too cautious on the road?

any advice would be appreciated
  2. You are doing the right thing, not much more you can do.

- Slow down
    - Cover brakes
    - Buffer
  3. Most of the time they are just impatient, judge it properly and you'll find that it's far easier and less stressful to roll it on and get out of their way ;)
  4. press the high beam few times, and accelerate. usually they will give way :grin:
  5. I'm against the use of flashing hi-beams because the message could be mistaken for you giving way to them.

Seen it happen a few times.
  6. I totally agree with that
  7. i flash my high beams coming to blind intersections (while slowing down if i have right of way). It just makes you that little bit more visible to any drivers coming down a side street!