Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Cagers making way?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Karaman, Mar 13, 2007.

1. Hey everyone, first post for me :)

I've been riding for about 3 months now and I've noticed a couple of times on highways or long stretches of road with a single carriage some cars tend to drift into the shoulder (about half of the car over the line) whenever i am behind them, usually a van/heavy/slower car.

Are they letting me go past or are they just bad drivers? :p

I haven't actually rode past them yet since i haven't been sure, and because of that after a while they drift back into the lane, so thats why im confused.

Cheers in advance, Simon.
  2. sounds like they're bad drivers, or under the influence of something sus. :biker:
  3. hey welcome karaman..

my guess is you have caught up to them and sitting at a distance that to them appears close. and yes they are probably moving over to let you thru, thinking they are being nice. problem is they are throwing up all sorts of shit all over you.

my suggestion is not to be tempted unless you can see well past them, and if you do go past do not use their lane in case they change their mind or something is in the emergency lane ahead that they need to avoid. give em a thankyou wave as they were considerate enough to notice you too.

if you dont want to pass let them know by shaking your head or hand suggesting them to move back into the lane.

have fun and safe riding.
  4. my guess is they are distracted by you :grin:
  5. Too true twoguns, i do catch up to cars quite regularly :p

Thanks for the advice though, you've cleared things up for me.