Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Cafe Racer handle bars

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by MeltingDOg, May 18, 2011.

1. Hi guys,

I'm a bit of a newb here so forgive my ignorance. I have a great little Suzuki GN250 and I just think it would look good with some cafe racer style handle bars.

If anyone has done something like this before:

is a small conversion like this hard to do (ie. with a bit of know how could you do it yourself)?

What are the associated costs (parts plus labour)?

Where (in and around Brisbane) can I get parts and does anyone know of any businesses that can do this?

2. My first question would be-

Clip on's or Clubman's?
  3. I think Clubmans would be the better option
  4. Flip the bars upside down.
  5. You can do it yourself really easily mate, especially if you're going for clubmans.
  6. Know of any online guides or how-tos?
  7. To be honest mate, it's so unspectacular you don't really need one.

I'm not sure of the way your controls are set up, but you loosen the two screws holding each in, pull them off and rest them on soemthign with all the cables etc still attached. Unscrew the four bolts that hold the bars to the top triple clip and take the old bars off, new bars on and then reattach the controls.