Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Cafe racer advice

Discussion in 'Naked' started by Damomelb, Aug 4, 2015.

1. Hi gents. First post here and just looking for a bit of advice/opinion/anecdotal leanings etc.

Let me preface this by saying I am a complete novice both as a rider and with the spanner.

I'm looking to get a cafe racer style bike as my first bike. I have been told by some that perhaps the older technology and riding position on a lot of them are not ideal for the novice rider but they are essentially the only style of bike that interests me so that pretty much puts alternative styles out the window. I'll be using the bike around town. Commute to work and leisurely on the weekend. Nothing longhaul etc.

Although I endeavour to eventually build my own project bike once I am a lot more competent on the tools, I am looking for a ready to go (within reason) bike.

I'm gonna come clean. Aesthetics play huge role in the bikes I have in mind. I love the look of some of these classic cafes and as such would like garner a few opinions on the mechanical side of things.

Max budget on-road $7000 and has to be Learner approved in Victoria.

Thoughts on these options: