Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Buying your first bike

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Treffynnon, Sep 2, 2006.

1. Whilst I have some mechanical experience with cars, I have no idea when it comes to bikes. I do have an uncle who used to ride MVs, Ducatis and Guzzis, but he isn't keen on my purchasing a bike so I can't take him along to inspections to help out. Also none of my friends ride bikes and probably think most riders are nuts!

I have been reading over the great articles that are available on the NetRider website, but I am still not confident enough to pick a good bike from a bad one. Plus I have the added problem of not being able to ride it before buying it as I am yet to get my Ls. How many sellers would let a learner test ride their bike anway! :)

Does anyone have any additional ideas of how to avoid getting stung on bikes?

I visited Sumoto the other day and was told to give the idea of riding away if I didn't have at least $5k to spend on my first bike. I find this a bit hard to swallow. Can this be taken as a gospel? Looking on BikePoint and BikeSales I don't really think it can be. I am not having a go at Sumoto by the way. They were very friendly and helpful whilst I was there.

Sorry for the rambling post. I have got a cold at the moment and should be in bed. :)
  2. $5k is a good start but simply not necessary.
    i think you need to do a riding course or lessons where you use their bikes etc. at least then you get to experience 2 wheels.
    a bike shop will squeeze you for everything you have....but then buying private has its own set of risks. find someone who knows bikes or just ask that a prospective bike be looked over by a mechanic
  3. How much are you willing to spend? What style are you after?