Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Buying Used ZZR 250

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by antkleve, Jan 7, 2006.

1. Hi,

I am just new to the world of bikes, originally intending to get a scooter but after doing the pre-learner course, thought that I would be far better off with a bike.

Have looked at a few 250cc models and was out a dealer today who had a 93 ZZR250 Aust compliance with 13,000km for $4500. It was in OK condition, but had a cracked fairing. Just have a few questions;
    1. Is this a reasonable deal?
    2. How much is a new fairing on a ZZR. I have been told they are $1800
    3. 13,000ks for a 93 bike sounds too good to be true. Is it?
  2. kays are too good to be true and I dare suggest that I've seen ZX2Rs for a shade over 5k in later years than 93...
  3. 1- sounds a bit high, even for this time of the year. try under $4k and you're probably looking at the going rate for something with those sort of kays.

2- NFI, but you wont have to replace it, just fix it. will cost you substantially less than that, IF you actually need it (remember that this is the time you will be most likely to stack. you may not, but theres a damn good chance the bike will fall down at some stage)

3- could be, who knows. i had an 85 GSXR750 with 12,000 on it, i reckon it was absolute BS and sold it as 112,000. could have ticked over, could be a new set of dials, you cant know.

*shameless plug* my uncle has a GPX 250 for sale at the moment. 96 model in black with under 50,000 on it, couple of cracks in the faring but nothing major broken. he wants $2500 for it :wink: