Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Buying my first bike. What do you think of my chices?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by BigHearny, Aug 11, 2007.

1. Hi Everybody!

Im just getting into bikes n dont know a real lot about em but I like the look of the motard style bikes n been told by quite a few people they are heaps of fun to ride, so this is what im looking at buying -

Suzuki DR-Z 400SM
    Husqvarna SM610/510
    KTM SMC 625/660

also a KTM 640 Duke II looks cool but I dont think they are learner approved.

So what do you all think? As in value for money, reliability, maintenance costs etc.

I know the Suzuki is alot cheaper than the others but the others look so cool!

Cheers :grin:
  2. Well, hearny, a lot depends on the sort of riding you're going to be doing.

Every bike is a compromise and you need to recognise the compromises.

Motards can zip through traffic like a knife through hot butter, but they generally have narrow hard seats and vibrate a bit, so they can be hard to live with on trips (although Toecutter's latest effort of 700kms in a day does tend to disprove that :shock: :LOL:).

Nakeds don't look all racy, but tend to do most things well.

Race-type bikes looks great but can be a pain in the wrists and the back (and also the wallet if you sucumb to temptation :).

In the end, examine your needs, your budget and your ego, and buy what fits them best.

And, welcome to Netrider. Put your State location in your profile so we know which set of confusing State laws we are dealing with....
  3. hornet600 summed it up very well so I will try to add something too.