Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Buying help needed for first bike

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Bzammit, Oct 29, 2015.

1. Hi there,
    I am new to bikes and I am going for my licence in under 3weeks.
    I have looked around at some dealerships and found 2 bikes that I really like because they look sweet and it also fits in my budget.
    So those 2 I liked were the

Honda cbr500r 2015
    Kawasaki ER6NL 2014

If I could get some advice between the 2 bikes would be great. Especially because I'm a taller and heavier lad.
    I am 97kilo and about 5“10
  2. Both good bikes mate, I would buy the er6nl personally, mainly so I could take the restrictor off ;-)
  3. My advice is don't buy(or even settle on) a bike before you can test ride it first. Get the learners permit and then visit as many dealerships as you can and ride as many different bikes as you will be able to.

As for the bikes you mentioned, I would've went with ER6 as I prefer upright naked bikes. Speaking of nakeds, have you considered an MT07?
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Good advice. It is possible to buy a bike which just doesn't fit. Sit on lots of them. Ride as many as you can. Consider your posture - bikes can vary widely, in the stance they require you to assume to ride them - more upright, vs more crouched. Beginner riders are usually more comfortable with a more upright bike.
  5. Definitely ride them first..... ride them all! But also be sure to get insurance quotes on the bikes you're considering..... the premiums/availability could be a determining factor!
  6. I'd go the cbr500r for sure.

I couldn't stand the physical throttle restriction on the er6nl. I too was really really keen on one, but then test rode it.