Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Buying first bike

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Bolds, Apr 24, 2007.

1. Hi guys, first post.

I'm going for my learners tomorrow afternoon, already completed the theory side. So I'm wanting to get my own bike ASAP..... however as I'm new to riding and none of my mates ride I have a few questions.

I know what kind of bike.... CBR250RR.

I've read through the buying guide, which increased my knowledge by a huge amount.... but it also made me realise just how little I know.

I'm a little hesitent to go out and inspect a bike and buy one solo, for fear of buy a dud.... am I better off buying from a dealer? Is there a company which will come out and inspect the bike for or with me?

My main concern is that I've only ever ridden the one bike and only for a short period of time, so if I was to test ride one I'm sure I'd be overwelmed and wouldn't really take much in.

Any tips would be much appreciated.....

NB: Great site!!
  2. Welcome to NR !!!

Your next click should be ----> right here.

You should read it at least twice and very carefully. In that thread you will find 3 other links to other Netrider threads, read those as well.

Good luck :)
  3. ahhh - I just realised you said you've already read the Guide To Buying Your First Bike thread, very wise.