Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Buying a second hand bike

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by James_Syd, Jul 17, 2009.

1. Hi all,

Obviously new here. Been reading through a number of posts for a couple of weeks trying to get myself informed as I am new to riding. I got my L's over a month ago (haven't ridden since which is killing me) and have recently purchased all my gear. Now to buy a bike....

My questions relate to actually going to see someone selling a bike second hand:

1. Am I to expect to be able to test ride the bike?
    2. Once I tell the seller I am on my L's are they likely to not allow me to test ride the bike?

The reason I ask is that my experience on a bike consists only of the two day pre-learner course and limited time on a scooter whilst on holidays years ago. Even though I am new to riding with limited experience I think I would be fine test riding a bike, however in doing this I would be riding on unfamiliar roads (where ever the seller lives) and most likely contending with traffic.

What are your experiences in purchasing a second hand bike for the first time? And also what do you suggest I should do?

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.
  2. I wouldn't let you test ride my bike, way too much risk.

What would a test ride really tell you anyway? If you have little experience of bikes then you have nothing to compare to and not much knowledge of what you are looking out for anyway.
  3. +1. However, there is the odd dealer who will let you test ride a used bike. That's definitely the exception rather than the norm.