Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Buying a 'kit' for a newbie

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by jezaa, Oct 13, 2009.

1. Hi lads (and gals),

I'm about to go for my L's in a few weeks and I've been in the process of hunting for gear. I'm looking to spend about $2,000 on the gear alone but I need some advice from all you veterans on what is suitable.

Just to give you a run down, I'm a full-time uni student but I also work in finance which means I'm in a suit a good 3 days a week. I've been looking at the Dainese 2 piece suits (M5 and Laguna Seca) and I was wondering if these suits give better protection than buying say, a normal Dainese leather jacket and bike jeans/bike leathers? Do any of you who commute to work everyday find it too hot being in leather the whole time? The reason why I ask is because I don't want to stink up the office in the mornings!

How practical are leather race suits? I don't mind looking like a tool wearing a leather suit, on a VTR250/RS125 as long as I'm relatively safer. I'm not on a big budget constraint and I rather spend more than have to spend a few months nursing broken bones (or dead).

For those who have gone down both paths, what do you see as being the pro's and con's of wearing racing suits daily vs. traditional gear (jacket + jeans/pants)?

Thanks in advance guys! Your answers will be much appreciated.

2. If it is mainly for commuting then I would say look at textiles not leather. Leather is not going to provide any more impact protection than textile, it is the armour in them that provides that. Leather will last longer in a slide than textile but on a commute it is unlikely that if you were involved in an accident you would be going fast enough to slide very far anyway.