Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Buying a CBR250R - any advice? [update]

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by cossie, Oct 31, 2005.

1. ...other than dont do it!!!

Looking around for a cheap 250 thats worth riding (FZR, CBR, ZXR, ZZR etc) and I've seen one or two CBR250's for under $3000 (without rwc :? )

What are the main things to be aware of on these? It'll be my first bike but I'm a car mechanic by trade so not a total noob :p

Im looking for something that is cosmetically untidy as theres a fair chance it'll end up on its side at some point, but something thats not likely to catch me out too much come rwc time :shock:

I've read the used bike guide on here but is there anything specific that HAS to be right before buying?

thankingyoumuchly :D

2. disks... check them and make soure they are above the min thickens... the min thicknes is stamped on them...

most other parts (not counting the fairings) are realetively cheep and easy to find... Disks... are expensive... new about $400 front and $200 rear and second hand about $150 front and $100 rear if you can find them!!

3. how ya goin?

my experience is that if any 250 is looking 'shabby', it hasn't been looked after internally. I would definately be looking for something that someone has kept clean on the outside, it has generally then had the necessary maintenance done

4. ^^^ Agreed!

But you're right about there being a high probability of you going for a slide some time in the near future. It happens to all of us at some stage (some more than others).