Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

buying a bike

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by sebapl10, Sep 17, 2012.

1. hi, im from victoria and have been hammering bike sales every day, every hour hoping for a bike (ninja 250) to pop up for a reasonable price. Most ninjas are much cheaper in other states such as QLD and WA. i dont know why but i can save around 500-1200 if i buy interstate, problem is getting the bike back to victoria. Is it worth it getting a bike freighted over(with the risk of not seeing the bike myself) or paying that little bit extra for a local bike. i still think paying $4800 for a 2008 ninja is way overpriced, but what do i know?? im just a noob x2.

2. But then you have to deduct the cost if transport, getting a RWC, and transferring the rego.

If you want to find the best deal rather than constantly checking Bikesales maybe try other sites like ebay, trading post, etc. Personally I've found the best prices are found as far from major cities as possible, since it's usually a lot harder to sell if you're out in the country.
  3. The interstate bike is the sirens call, not as it seems.
  4. also factor the cost in for hidden surprises since u cant actually check the bike physically.
  5. If you see a bike that you think is $500 - $1200 more than you think it should be, offer them what you think it is worth.
    You may be surprised (lol in more ways than one)
  6. yeah budget is 4k maximum, then i gotta buy a helmet, kevlar jeans, jacket, gloves (no boots) RWC. if it was up to me id get a 300cc but oldies are not really happy or keen with the thought of me getting a bike.