Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Buy a second hand bike in QLD?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by MattiasL, Jun 24, 2012.

1. Hi I am new on this forum and have been in Australia for 1 year now and I am going to buy a second hand motorbike to commute to work and Uni, I have been riding bikes in Sweden for many years.

I would like some help regarding registration and safety certificate questions when buying a second hand motorbike in QLD, I have spent a long time trying to figure out the information on the Queensland transport homepage but I cannot get my head around it.

I was thinking to buy an unregistered motorbike for around $1500 and make it roadworthy, is this unwise? I have read on different forums that it is difficult and expensive to register an unregistered motorbike? And I cannot find much information on QLD transport page.

I used to repair and thinker with my bikes in Sweden so I am quite confident in getting a bike roadworthy.

Hope you can help me with information because I want to get back on the road and also do some travelling and discover this beautiful country.

2. It isn't difficult to get a safety certificate. Before you buy the bike, do a REVS check on it to make sure the bike isn't stolen or money owed on it.
    Then buy the bike, prep/fix the bike so it is roadworthy, then find out who does safety certificates for bikes in you local area and present the bike to them. They will go over the bike and either give you a certificate, or give you a list of further items that needs replacing or repairing.
    Once it passes, you will need to present the certificate plus the purchasing information from the seller in the form of a receipt, to prove ownership, along with enough ID to establish your identity.