Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bushfire affected areas

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by MadStu, Feb 24, 2009.

1. With my role as a CFA volunteer firefighter I was requested to go to Kinglake West on Sunday evening and returning on Monday morning. Instead of the usual gig where we get bussed into a staging area just out of the fire and then hop onto the trucks, I was asked to provide my own transport to Kinglake West fire station.

Without much hesitation I chose to take my bike instead of the car thinking that this may provide a good opportunity to ride some of the roads in the area we all love.

The route I took is http://tinyurl.com/dy4x9y Point A is where I entered the roadblock, up to there is still accessable to the general public, after there is only accessable to local residents and the emergency services. I took this route as opposed to a more technically interesting road because I'd been advised this road was clear of any trees etc.

Point B is Kinglake West Fire station, my destination for the night. Whilst there I spoke to some of the locals who advised that Heidelberg Kinglake road was clear, so I chose to take that route home (what rider in their right mind would pass up the opportunity to ride it).