Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

NSW "Bus Only" lanes

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' at netrider.net.au started by dewy, Dec 5, 2010.

1. Okay, I had a quick search with no luck.

So I have been riding for around two years now, having only moved to sydney I am enjoying riding in bus lanes, however I am wondering, what/if any difference there is between a bus lane and a bus only lane? Can a motorcycle use both, or just a bus lane?

Also Transit lanes, bikes are allowed in T2, what about T3?

2. bus lanes we can use, bus only we cannot, i am fairly sure we can use transit lanes as well

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Bus transit lanes, no, T2 and T3 yes

4. bus only means ONLY buses.

bus lanes = buses, motorcycles, taxi's and hire cars.

T2 and T3 lanes = any vehicle with more than 2 or 3 people, and motorcycles.

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. So I've done some searches & cannot seem to cone up with the answer. So lets say your legally riding in a bus lane & unfortunately get stopped at a red, if you are the first at the lights & get the magic B light does that mean you can go or is it for busses only??? Happened to me last week, I didn't know what to do so I rolled out of the way & let the bus behind me go...

6. If you look at the lane at the front of lights with the B signal they are "bus only" not "bus lane". This means you can't ride in it.

• Agree Agree x 1
  7. This is correct. Then there are certain bus lanes which, by virtue of the added restrictions [eg. taxi + bicycles only], motorcycles cannot use. One example is the bus lane on Park Street, Sydney east-bound [near Woolworths Town Hall].