Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bum-ing the bends…

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by FormerUser1, Jan 31, 2006.

1. Just to throw another bone into the riding-tech arena....
    (and the reason it's NOT posted under "riding tips", as it could be wrong)

It will be “old-news” to some, but here it goes…

The disclaimer right at the start:
    This is NOT…repeat: NOT…recommended for L/P riders, beginners, or anyone not completely confident on their bike/ cornering.

It also MAINLY/ONLY (not sure yet) applies to the Keith Code/ hook-turn/ square-turn/ call it whatever type of cornering. Things could go pear shaped if applied to the “classic” (symmetrical) type of cornering (but haven't tried it yet).

I’ve been using this for nearly 2 years (consciously) now and feel very confident with it, way more in control of every little part of a turn, passing through bends quicker (not at a higher speed, but more “fluid” and in total control).
    It’s also helped me with my right-handers, to a point where the tyres show harder wear on the right than the left.

Assuming the high and deep entry line under brakes, weight is shifted onto the inside-edge of the seat, making the ridge/ edge noticeable (NOT sliding the bum…only “rolling” it onto the edge to make it be felt…with a differently-shaped seat there might be a marginal “creep-across” involved).
    The edge of the seat gives a defining point at the “point-of-tip-in”.
    Immediately after it’s back on the gas, the weight shifting slightly backwards by the accelerating bike. Instead of countering that, I allow myself to “get driven backwards”…MARGINALLY !!, using the weight-shift to have the butt-cheek pressed even harder into the edge of the seat.