Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

QLD Brisbane parking crusade

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' at netrider.net.au started by Barters81, Jun 30, 2015.

1. So I'm starting a crusade to either get more marked out motorcycle parks in the cbd and Valley, or better yet to get footpath parking legalised.

I've so far sent 3 emails from different accounts making a polite succinct request for the above.

So now I call on all netriders (don't necessarily have to live in Brisbane) to contact the BCC am request more parks and/or footpath parks.

Let's see if we can make a difference.

2. Do you have a form letter to send? I am new to Brisbane, and miss the ease of parking I had in Melbourne. There is parking in the CBD fringes, which seems to be full from about 7:00am, but little in the core CBD, and I have yet to see it in other suburban areas where bike parking would be a bonus (main street shopping strips, etc). This would be a great leap forward...

3. Here is the link....

Write to Council | Brisbane City Council

I don't have a standard form letter done up, rather hoping each can raise their own to look less like a concerted effort and more like a bunch of individual motorcyclists.

I just stressed that since the filtering laws have changed there are more motorcycles, hence less available parks. Noted Victoria's laws for footpath parking and flow on benefits of more motorcycles to local government (less traffic congestion). Also pointed ut the amount of space that is currently available not being used.

I've so far had all motorcyclists in my office (6 of them) send individual emails to BCC.

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. #4 XMan, Jun 30, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2015