Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bringing the Parentals around...

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by MattExa, Jul 26, 2006.

1. Some of you may remember that I got knocked off my bike by a stupid cager nearly a year ago - almost got killed and spent a month in hospital and all that. :(

Anyways I feel now is the time to hit the road again on a new bike (been looking at the '06 GSX-R600), BUT my old lady is totally against it. She's been carrying on that I should see the error of my ways and be mindful that I've been given a second chance at life. :? I'm a student so I still live at home, but apparently I'll be homeless if I bring home another beastly two-wheeled coffin! :eek:

Personally, I don't remember the collision and much of the hospital stay so I don't have any problem with riding again. However, my family and girlfriend do remember all of the crap I went through, so I can also understand where they are coming from. My girlfriend was totally cool with my old bike but since discussing a new bike, she's been fretting and worries that I'll get cleaned up again. We've discussed the statistics of bike injuries compared to other sports/activities and she knows I always gear up and ride to the conditions, but still no luck. :oops:

Help me Dr. Phil!!! What should I do??

I love riding too much to give it up, plus my car is about to cark it so I need to replace it with something... How can I bring everyone around to my point of view? :grin:

2. Sounds like you're caught between a rock and a hard place.
    If the choice is between owning a bike and paying rent or living at home, it's not much of a choice really. Particularly if you're a student (ie have very little income).
    Plenty of time to get a bike later.