Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Braking and Blipping

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by BRK, Mar 5, 2008.

1. ok, so i have searched and unserstand the concept of 'blipping' the throttle though i do have one question,

Do you use the front brake with four fingers whilst blipping the throttle at the same time? or do you brak, then blip the throttle then brake again?

im currently braking with my outside three fingers whilst blipping with my thumb and index, is the wrong? i find braking with four fingers and blipping with the thumb only quite hard.

2. I was taught you should not use your index finger to hold the throttle, when blipping and braking. Just practice.
  3. All depends on the circumstances is my guess.
    I'm still a newbie, I use my thumb/palm on the throttle and I've used, 2, 3 or 4 fingers on lever and at times I blip without touching the brake at all ( If I'm slowing just a little and want to get in the 'right' gear for the speed )
    Others with more experience may either confirm this or rip it to shreds :p
  4. I don't know how many fingers is "right". I use one, but I imagine most bikes wouldnt get away with that.

One thing is for certain though, it is one smooth application of the brakes, not stop start as you blip.
  5. I grew up on two strokes, motocross and road bikes, which of course have minimal compression locking. No blipping needed. I moved to four strokes when the CBR900RR came out, and discovered lockup.
    I never learnt to blip, instead I used the clutch to equalise engine speed and wheel speed when braking. I just brake, pull the clutch, change down, slip it a touch, change, and so on. I use alot of back brake too. Pretty much what I did on two strokes, but alot more slipping.