Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Brakes for motorcycles

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by MisfitPL9, Mar 7, 2009.

1. Are there any motorcycles that use only one control ( ie: lever controls front and back braking system ) for the brakes.

If not - then why not ( I am not tech savvy with bikes ), and I cannot understand why there wouldnt be a system similar to a car braking system and its percantage for front and back brakes.

The only reason I can think of for the 2 levers on a bike is for stability or control.

Can anyone enlighten me?
  2. Because brakes affect the balance. If you try to stop with the front brake, while doing a tight turn in a parking lot, the bike might fling itself over.

Likewise if you try to use the rear brake in a high speed corner, you run the risk of sliding out and/or highsiding.

At any one point on a motorcycle, the amount of traction available to to a wheel can vary greatly. Those are extreme examples, but many people ride some sort of sports bike which push the limits of traction already.

Having said that, a lot of touring bikes have some sort of linked brakes in conjunction with ABS, e.g. BMW's R series.
  3. Control. There are times where you will want to control how much braking each wheel is doing.
  4. Hill starts!

Rear brake is good for hill starts since it takes time to release the front brake lever and twist the throttle, during which you may roll backwards, whereas you can start releasing the rear brake and applying throttle at the same time. Front brake is good for stopping because you have much more feel and finesse with your hand than foot. So a motorcycle works best with both.
  5. Isn't because motorbikes are more like bicycles than cars?
    It's the way things are.