Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Brakes feel different & brake light no worky

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by DuaneDibbley, Dec 9, 2014.

1. Long story short - local dealer changed tyres on my 09 after I got a flat.

I get the bike back and notice they've moved my brake lever setting. During the ride home I notice it feels like the lever is engaging further out than usual.
    Have also noticed that I can stop from 60kph with normal braking levels without triggering the front brake switch. Which is obviously not correct.

Any thoughts? I'm no bike mechanic but everything looks undamaged. The calliper bolt heads looks like the pulled the callipers off to remove the wheel. Brakes don't feel spongy. Harder if anything.

Any thoughts?

Edit: It's a non-ABS MT-09.
  2. What's the front brake switch? The rear brake light?

Other than that it sounds as though they've firmed the brakes up to where they need to be. Further out less pull. You can always change the lever setting dial if you don't like it.
  3. Yes they have to remove the caliper, the rotor stays attached to the rim while tyre is being replaced

Have you got stock levers or aftermarket?
  4. The only way your brakes could "feel" harder is if he did you a favour and changed pads that were at or near the end their life, which seems unlikely.