Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Boots a tad too big!

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by jessbolden, Jun 11, 2015.

1. Hi all,

I am rather new to the motorcycle scene as I just purchased my cbr250r and am learning the tricks of the trade. I was able to snag a once worn pair of Alpinestar smx 5's which are a mere half size, if that, too big. Keen to hear what you guys do in order to tighten them up just that extra bit?

In my Army boots we have extra soles for our heels, but I'm not entirely sure that would always work best in all situations.

2. Another pair of socks perhaps?
    • Agree Agree x 2
  3. Hi Jess, and welcome.
    For the boot issue, I just add an inner sole if there's room.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. I have thought about double socking it, but would like a more permanent solution as the boots are amazing! I'm going to try right now to add the extra insoles from my Army boots and see if they stop the heel gap/slide I'm receiving! Will let you know how that goes.
  5. You can try a few of differing thickness', but make sure the top one is full length so that it will keep all of the others in place.
    I don't mind wearing thicker socks, but too much will create a cushion between your foot and the boot shell, which could compromise their effectiveness.
    For maximum protection your foot needs to wrapped by the boot so that it is held immobile and cannot twist etc.
  6. Chucked in two of my Army Terra inserts and they feel exceptionally better around the top, but I still get a slight slip of the heel, especially when I step or shift... Wondering if there is something I can place behind my heel to eradicate this issue, as it really is just the heel where I'm having issues now.