Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Booked in my Ls, pre-learner course

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by squidman, Jul 11, 2011.

1. Hey guys i booked in my Ls today for wednesday and thursday at Penrith, i just wana know if the course is any hard? i've got no bike riding experience so thats what has me worried, iv been driving a manual car for like 3 years so i hope that helps me with handling the clutch on a bike. if anyones done the course recently can you tell me what they test for and things i should look out for cheers

2. Squidman, if you check out the RTA website (which I'm sure you have). The info they provide there is pretty much exactly what it says. I'm hearing from a couple of mates who have done it in the past couple of years that shes a pretty basic course with obstacles, braking, gear changing, steering, vision etc drills and also some classroom stuff. I reckon you'll be fine. Good luck.
  3. thanks man, ill spend the whole night reading on it IM PUMPED! :bannanabutt::bannanabutt::D:D:D
  4. You will be pumped (or should that be puffed?) after pushing the bike around for a good ½ hour or so. The pre-learner course assumes no prior knowledge of riding a motorcycle. As such, they start with very basic fundamentals and work from there. Don't expect to get out of second gear (third if you're lucky) over the 2 x ½ day course.
  5. My pre learners cause went for 1 hour (2 if your are bad) and was just basic cornering and gear changes. Reallllllly easy.

Learners course easy too, only thing I failed was forgetting to turn off the indicator.

I had 0 ride experience either.
  6. they still let you pass the course for little mess ups like that ?