Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bolwell VS125 Oil and Oil Change

Discussion in 'Scooters' started by MangaGal, Jan 13, 2009.

1. Hi guys
    I'm new to riding. I've got a Bolwell (Sym) VS125. Last week was my first time taking the scooter to a service. I'm not familiar with the motorcycle oil lingo. From memory the Bolwell manual recommends 20w50 engine oil. I looked at the invoice from the mechanic, they've used 10w40. Does it make a difference? I'm worried it does because I feel the engine is a bit noisier than before it was serviced. And it's a bit more dragging going up hill.

I know it's recommended to change the oil every 1000km and that's like every 2 months for me. I'm thinking of learning how to change the oil. It's still under warranty but the previous owner used to change oil himself so I didn't see the difference I would make.

The mechanic told me that VS125 doesn't need an oil filter change because it has one inside. I just need to clean it and pop it back in. Is this true?

Any info will be helpful. Thanks in advance.
  2. I know a lot of the cheaper Asian scooters have crazy service intervals, and the VS is obviously one of them if they recommend 1,000km services. Presumably cheaper components is the reason they want oils changed so frequently, which suggests that things may not last well at all if the scoot is exposed to much wear. So in that case i'd stick to the regular oil changes.

First things first - usually, to keep your warranty, you must have the bike serviced by a proper mechanic. So check that out before you start doing things yourself.

I have no idea about the specifics of the VS, but generally the way it works is you would replace the oil filter say every second oil change.