Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

BMW r65 tyre question

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Jackstar, Jan 16, 2012.

1. Hi People,
    This is my first time on this and any forum! I,ve just bought on ebay a 1981 BMW R65, it has been standing for the last 10 years and doesn't,t run. Question is... It,s got 17,000 k,s on the clock, no idea if it's first second or even third time round. I thought if I could find out what the original factory fitted tyres were it would give me an idea if it's the first time round... Does any one know???

I,ve bought it as a long term project, I know very little about bikes, I ride a scooter for fun but haven,t really had bikes since I was a kid ( currently going through a mid life crisis according to my wife!!!) It comes with a Haynes manual and at present a lot of enthusiasm from me, we,ll see if that lasts?

Any way no doubt I will be posting many questions in the months to come, so hi and thank you in advance for all the knowledge that you guys may be able to impart.

Cheers Ash (what the hell have I got myself into?)

P.s what,s a tag?

2. Google seems to say 90/90 or 100/90 for the front and 110/90 for the rear.
    Im looking at one atm for a project bike as they are on the lams list as well.
  3. Hmm, was thinking of the make of tyre, thank anyway
  4. I've had both Avons and Dunlops on the R65LS and they've been fine.

You can run tubeless (on the LS anyway)

ps If you're in Victoria join the BMWMCCVIC if you want more advice than you'll ever use.
    And access to special tools and even more advice at the workshop days :)

Edit: And here's a good piece on tyres for the R65 http://www.webbikeworld.com/Motorcycle-tires/sizes.htm
  5. Can't you get tyres for these bikes from the local bicycle shop....