Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

BMW R1200RT clunky transmission & vibrating mirrors

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by MalM, Apr 19, 2016.

1. #1 MalM, Apr 19, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2016
    Am asking for feedback from owners of 2014-2015-2016 models only please. Am newbie here, so hoping I'm posting in the right forum?

Returned to riding 2yrs ago with a Yamaha VStar1100 Classic then swapped to Suzuki VStrom 650 ... both very different.

Now seeking sports-tourer type & after a LOT of research have focused on the BMW R1200RT. ALL the reviews were excellent - it won more accolades /awards than .... BUT, took a 25k used 2014 version for a ride today and was VERY DISAPPOINTED :-( ... BUGGA

Yes, it had all the balance, grace, handling, acceleration, braking, gismos, etc, etc, but the gear change /transmission was just AWFUL (even with shift assistant pro) , and the faring mounted mirrors vibrated showing only a blurred guesstimate of what was behind.

I have since trolled the internet re these issues and found many American forums with similar comments, but no substantive solutions.

So far, most of the clunkey gears analysis seems attributable to the wet clutch system in this bike ... ????

Really? ... is this a BMW or not? I have ridden several but none had the grinding thump & lurch forward this bike had today. Downshifting was not much better.

And the vibrating mirrors seems an experience inconsistent ... yes, mine do ... or, no, mine don't ...???

I am now seeking comments & info from Aussie sources please.

Thanks in advance, MalM