Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bmw r1200gs

Discussion in 'Adventure/Enduro' started by Choppers, Mar 20, 2011.

1. I am a newbie here so first let me say hi to everyone. I have been riding motorcycles for a long time now but mainly on the black top, my last bike being a 2008 Kawasaki 1400GTR. I have recently decided to do a bit of offroad and so have purchased and am awaiting delivery of a BMW R1200GS. As I intend to take it offroad I have come to the realisation that at one time or another I will drop it. What I would like are some suggestions about the best crash protection I can get for the bike without spending vasts sums of money. I know an at speed drop will cause damage regardless but am really after some ideas about what I can do to prevent minor damage and some hints about any parts on the bike that may be more suspect than others to damage and so require extra protection. Thanks.

2. BMW have some options available. Certainly crash bars, but pretty certain also rocker cover covers since when they lie down they rest on their pots.

You didn't say where you are located. BMW Club Vic has online forum where you could ask but you need to be a member. BMW was giving free year's membership to anyone who bought a bike. Not sure if this still applies though. Probably similar forums in other states not to mentions UK and US.

It's BMW's biggest selling model so there shou8ld be plenty of info around.
  3. Soft luggge, even if you already have cases. After 80,000k's on an XR and an 800gs i wont take hard cases off road. They're noisy, fall off bend, fkn hurt when they land on your leg, the lids fall off and you end up stickytaping the case to your luggage rack.