Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Blipping + Provisional test

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by SpRonG, Jun 7, 2007.

1. Ive been riding for nearly 3 months and can apply for my Ps soon. I read on another topic about blipping and always hear people talk about blipping.

What exactly is blipping? I am a confident rider and approach corners alot more aggressively than 3 months ago. I ride pretty much 5 days a week to work and get around. Even if i dont need to blip i just want to know what is it and how to do it.

By the way has anyone done the pre-provisional test on a Zx2r? Im worried about the cone weaving and U-turn...any suggestions or anyone want to practice?
  2. Okay you've probably noticed that when you change down a gear the revs go up right? Blipping is simply the practice of quickly opening and closing the throttle a little bit when you have the clutch lever pulled in so instead of having the rear wheel speed the engine up it's sped up by the throttle. The advantage is that it makes the shift smoother and puts a lot less strain on the gearbox/chain - also reduces the chance of the rear wheel locking due to compression (more a problem with larger, torquier bikes).
    Edit: Oh and it's something that works in cars too, although it's a lot harder to do - often referred to as heel-toe braking.
  3. friend passed his p's on a zxr250

dunno how comparative it is, but when i did mine, guy with me flew thru it on a hyosung 250r
  4. you'll have plenty of time to practice the parts of the test before you actually do it. if you're struggling with a part of the test, ask the instructor for some advice, they'll be more then happy to give it to you.
  5. As said above. It's not rocket science you probably do it already.