Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Black Spur - A First Timers Observations

Discussion in 'Roads, Touring, Journeys, and Travel' at netrider.net.au started by cbwolf, Jan 26, 2009.

1. Seeing as today was a public holiday myself and a mate took the opportunity to go for a ride.

We headed up Plenty Road to Whittlesea through the hills, then through to Kinglake then down to Healsville via Chum Creek Road.

After having lunch at Healsville, we decided to have a go at the Black Spur as neither of us had done it before. I had been putting it off for a few months because of the reputation of being a challenging road but thought enough was enough.

So we geared up and headed up out of Healsville. Traffic was suprisingly light and i only had one scare when some shithead of a biker came barreling around a blind corner in the opposite direction - in my lane.

So, my observations after running the black spur for the first time?

The road surface and signage is great. The scenery is beautiful. The ride itself, would be what i would call "mild". I personally found Chum Creek Road between Toolangi and Chum Creek more difficult and technically challenging. I found myself quite often pushing 90km/h through many of the corners without really leaning the bike over that much, so all in all, i think my "fear" of the Black Spur was unfounded.

After today, i think i'll be including the Black Spur into my regular rides and give the Reefton Spur a try at some stage and see how i fair.

2. i'm yet to head up either, but having done chum creek for the first time today with a group... i'm eager to try the spur... just with someone :oops:

3. Oh the stoke of the twisties aye! :D :grin: