Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bit of a noob, looking for some help?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Vicenza, Feb 20, 2015.

1. Hello I am sorry if this is the wrong place but I was referred here by some mates who couldn't give me help.

Basically I just got my Ls(yay) and im getting a ninja 250 within a week or two, I went out and bought a shark vision R series 2 helmet and got a leather jacket for 300 freakin dollars and then got gloves.

I am new to riding but the moment I did the test and had my 7 hours practice on that bike I fell in love, I absolutely loved the experience and it became like a drug to me. I am quite a fat guy, yep.. Throwing it out there, I aint ashamed! I am close to 6ft and about 125kg's. Now I have a few questions I was hoping some of you might be able to answer or even give your advice/opinion on :)

1) The leather jacket was the largest size they had for the price tag I could afford, it hurts when I do it up(I can't breathe) is it ok to ride with it not zipped up?

2) I want to buy a DARK tinted visor, like black. I want nobody to be able to see into my helmet. But I cannot seem to find where to buy it? Money isn't really an issue for this request but I really cannot find it! I can find "light" tinted etc but for a vision R I cannot find any dark ones :(

3) I am not worried about the bike slowing down due to my weight, yeah i'm a big guy but I had no trouble going faster than everyone on my learners course ;D but I cannot get my boots on? They fit into my feet but when I go to zip it up(it's a shin one) it just WONT GET OVER MY SHIN! I asked my instructor and he said he has the same problem along with many people in his family, he had no advice :( Can I just wear runners?