Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bikes need fuel to go ! Who'd have thunk it !

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by VladTepes, Jan 6, 2012.

1. Well, embarassment.

Done today what I've NEVER done before and ran out of fuel.

My last bike had a reserve tap and that's a really good idea !

Not like this new-fangled fuel injected bike with nought but a LCD readout you have to keep a close eye on. And I didn't. Well, not close enough !

There's no warning of impending stoppage either
    Not going ! Damn !

Stopped on an uphill and it's a HEAVY bike I was VERY lucky that I managed to move across into the left lane and then paddle the bike the last two metres UPHILL (aarrrggghh) to a side street.

No servos anywhere nearby that I knew of. Besides they dont lend fuel tins anymore you have to buy them. And what the heck would you do with an empty fuel tin, on a bike ?

Rang the RACQ and asked them to bring some fuel,which they did... 45 minutes later.

Was very late for work today. The being late is much less bad than having to explain it.

Then when I opened my topbox I found the dressing for my salad (lunch) had leaked all over everything in it. D'oh!
  2. You get those days hey. The trip home will be a breeze. How is your battery?
    Seems servos have lost a lot of fuel cans and very few lend them now. I've suggested to the local one that they lend them and ask for a deposit of equal retail value to the can.
  3. you do indeed get such days; and then again you get pearlers; the good mixed with the bad

I hope nothing important was under the salad dressing :)
  4. Cheap Barsteward......... :p