Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

bike wont turn over

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by 187_cbr, Jun 13, 2006.

1. hi im very new to bikes
    and this morning i started the bike
    it fired and all and warmed it for 5 mins
    and ride off then riding down my road i come to a set of lights
    and when i stoped the bike just stalled and didnt want to start again
    i started it on choke and the bike started but droped revs and stalled
    and it wont turn over
    any susgestion ?

2. Theres only one suggestion that i can think of.

Check the fuel tank setting.

Is it on Reserve, On or Off

If the petrol in your tank is low and you have your tank set on "ON" then switch to "RESERVE" and fill up.

If your tank is full, then you might have accidently knocked the fuel setting to "OFF", turn it back "ON"
  3. wont turn over or wont fire(start)???

2 VERY differant things
  4. it turn over when i hold the start
    but it wont start up/fire up
    could i have flood the carbs
    i have an cbr250rr
  5. Could be flooded i guess, could be out of fuel, what fuel have you been running?? if you have been using Shell then i sugest change fuels (BP is my brew of choice) stick some new plugs in and see if that works, while you have the plugs out check for spark.

Have you knocked the kill switch??
  6. yeh i filled up yesterday
    with caltex 95 octane
    and the kill switch is off
  7. well baring all else (Timeing gone waco, low compression, etc)if you have fuel and spark she gota go, so:

Pull the plug caps and stick a spare plug in to see if theres spark on all plugs.

Pull the bowl drain screw and see if fuel pees out everywhere.
  8. the bike started
    my dad did something
    when i went down to the shops