Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bike wont start after 3 months...need advice

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by kave, May 16, 2011.

1. Hey guys,

I just got off a 3-month speeding suspension on my red Ps and am having trouble starting the bike. Its a Kawasaki GPX250 (2007).

I disconnected the battery for the 3 months, but did nothing else to it. So yesterday I reconnected the battery and tried to start the bike. It's cranking over fine so the battery is not a problem, but the engine itself wont start, irrespective of whether I apply choke or not. Im a complete noob when it comes to these matters Ive never opened a bike (or a car) up before and the only maintenance Ive done on it is lubing the chain and changing the oil and oil filter. I did abit of a search on google and understand that the problem is most likely related to the carbs and/or valves? Any advice on what to do would be awesome.

This is probably asking too much but I live in maroubra, sydney, so if anyone lives around there and would be willing to lend a hand if I do need to open the bike up I would be eternally grateful, and would compensate with beer or any other beverage of your choice :)
  2. Fuel would be the first guess. It does age and get moisture in the tank. Worth draining the carburetors and putting fresh fuel in the tank. Carburetors can collect water from condensation.
  3. Unleaded fuels have a lot of detergent in them. This can gum up the plugs and jets.
    Too late now but when you store a bike it's a good idea to drain the tank.
    So what you need to find out is it fuel or spark.
    Best way is to pull one plug out and have a look at it.
    But before you do.....
    First check the kill switch.
    Then that it's in neutral.