Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bike Warranty void with slider kit, are they serious?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Deaf Wish, Mar 9, 2015.

1. Hi All, I'm new to this so please move if I've posted in the wrong place. I have splashed out on a new bike to be picked up this week. As soon as i had not even paid the deposit yet they were in with the hard sell on accessories. I would usually source things myself to save a bit of money but asked for a price on a protection / frame sliders kit. I was prepared to buy it off them and fit it myself but they said this would void my whole warranty. Surely this can't be right, or if it is it can't be legal.

2. #2 Jeffco, Mar 9, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2015
    welcome aboard :] that's just hard sell B/S from the salesman / shop.
    Ask him if its alright to adjust your mirrors or will that void the warranty to.
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  3. What JeffcoJeffco said. It would only void your warranty to the extent that it contributed to the failure in question.

Welcome to NR, by the way. Maybe you should head on to the Welcome forum and post an intro thread, tell us a bit more about yourself and the bike that you just bought.
  4. The dealer (manufacturer) would have a very hard time seeking to enforce that position. I would just ask the dealer if he can advise you of that in writing - see what happens!. Your rights under the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 can be much more extensive than the warranty offered by the manufacturer. For example, you should rarely (if ever) opt to pay anything for extended warranties because of the remedies available under the Consumer Act.