Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bike Suggestion Please

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by raj_27, Dec 22, 2012.

1. I am getting my license (if I pass all the tests) on 30th of this month. I will receive a full unrestricted license. I have nearly 7 years of experience riding small bikes and scooters (all under 150cc) and occasional big bikes like Enfield’s in India. After living here in Australia & driving car for about 8 and bit years, I am planning to get a motorbike.
    Budget: $5000 bike only, I can stretch my budget but don’t want to since it is my first bike in Australia and don’t know if riding is for me.
    I will be using the bike for commuting (32km 35min ride with filtering opportunity), weekend rides with pillion passenger (mostly freeways). I am 172cm tall and weigh 78 kg and my wife who will be my pillion passenger weighs 65Kg.
    So far I have had bit of search on the web and sat on few bikes, it feels like all the bikes other than the cruisers have no comfortable sitting position. All the necked and sports bike have at least some leaning on the hand and gear and break levers are directly below the bum. What I am used to is at least upright seating position and gear and break leavers bit further in front so that thighs are almost horizontal to ground. I would like to buy a bike which has at least this riding position. Can you please suggest me some bike for my needs.
    Thanks
    Raj

2. GS500F. Full size bike that has ample pillion space.

• Like Like x 1
  3. #3 twistngo, Dec 22, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2012
    one of the dual sport bikes? KLR650 or something similar. F650GS, DR650

4. That sounds like a bloody Harley
    Surely you can adjust to something like a vstrom