Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bike security

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by DaRock, Jul 9, 2009.

1. Hi all,

I'm looking to get a disc lock for my GS500. I want one that has an alarm on it, but being a newbie I'm not sure of the difference between them.

Can anyone recommend a particular disc lock with alarm?

How do I know which ones fit also (aside from relying on the sales guy)?
  2. Buy insurance.
    Than buy an alarm.
    Then get a disc lock/alarm to keep the morons (not bike thieves) away.

If you think an alarm or disc lock will keep your bike safe please message me your home address and I'll save you the wait by coming to steal your bike now. I charge a fee if its for insurance purposes so keep that in mind... :p

As for bike locks/alarms, its usually best to buy the latest of the range, as earlier models usually have faults or easy bypasses. I've never had a problem with the Xena range, but there's prolly 100 guys ready to launch into a chant of why they suck if I tried to recommended them because the quality varies from lock to lock. Buying an older version is just idiotic btw...but even the latest ones can have problems of false alarms etc.

And I knew my bike lock fitted because I went to the store and told him I was going outside to make sure it fitted - seemed to be the easiest way...
  3. I pick up a GS500FK9 next week and will be fitting an alarm ASAP. In the meantime, I'll be relying on comprehensive insurance and a Xena disk lock.
  4. Already got insurance, and consider this the primary method of theft protection.....

Been debating an alarm, but figured an alarm on a disc lock would be "similar" (I mean they both make annoying noises right)