Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

bike keeps cutting out

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by imsleepy, Mar 22, 2007.

1. hey guys

i have an arpilia rs250, 2 stroke bad boy

had some trouble with the bike today, not the best day since it was 30 degrees and peak time traffic, anyway, here comes the problem, i rode to work today, it was all fine...nothing wrong with it at all.

6 hours later, i start the bike, it was normal as well, took off and felt it was abit hard to since i had to rev it abit more than normal, took no notice of it at all, thought it was normal, im coming to a stop 10 metres away from where i started at a traffic light, the bike just cuts off, fair enough, thought i just stalled since im still a noob. start the bike again, put it into first, and it stalls, start again, this time i rev the shit of it to get it going, sweet i thought...its going but i have to rev the crap out of it to get it going, im reving it at like 7000rpm and its going 10ks, i still had the clutch abit on cause i felt if i let go of it fully, it would have just conked out again.

by this time 5 minutes have go by, so i just ride it back, struggles i may add, i was 20 metres short of my target when i stalled again, so i just wheeled it to my work carpark.

i'll also add, oil has also been dripping out....alot of it i may add, i just thought it was normal since i just topped my bike up with oil and it was just the excess, i don't know if the oil was brake fluid, oil or transmission oil.

thats the end of my story, if anyone can help, god bless you

2. When was the last time it had a top end rebuild?

Where is the oil dripping from? What colour is the oil that is dripping?