Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bike for Learners ( In particular Megelli )

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Eddyc9, Jul 21, 2012.

1. Hey guys
    I'm a 20year old student living in Sydney ( eastern suburbs ) close to the beaches, I got my L's last year but due to tearing my knee apart (twice) in 2 years (sports...), wasn't able to go onto my P's, so I'm going to get my L's again as it's the best (fun and cheap) mode of transport around sydney.

Anyways Back to the point of this thread, I was looking around for motorbikes (gumtree, ebay, tradingpost and what not) and was looking at a few bikes that might interest me. I'm going to be honest and say that I don't want a bike that's old, and yes I know old bikes are usually more reliable and all, but personally I want something more recent (preferably post 2005). Also, I don't think that getting a 125cc bike would be in my interest as I'm 6ft1 and about 80kilos so really would much prefer a 250 or even possibly a 400/600.

One bike, that i've seen a few models of, caught my eye and that's the Megelli 250s (note the 's' and not 'r'), this is the naked version that resembles the ducati 659. The majority of the models (that I can afford) are the 2009 models. Esthetically they are very pleasing as I prefer the naked look on bikes compared to the faired look (Yes, I had a hyosung gt250r that I sold to pay for knee reconstruction, which deters me from faired bikes now). But performance, reliability and resale wise, I haven't heard anything. There aren't any reviews available, and everyone seems to talk about the 250r and not the 250s. Are they the same performance wise? or is there a difference in that domaine? Is the bike good overall and worth it?