Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bike coughing when throttle opened

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by gbren, Mar 23, 2011.

1. Hi All,

I am new to bikes and have recently purchased a hyosung gt250r. I got it from a friend quite cheaps as he has gone overseas and no longer needed it but am having an issue with it.

When i open up the throttle more than roughly a quarter to halway the bike coughs and drops rev's and struggles to continue accelerating, I back off and ease back onto the throttle to get it to go but even then it still coughs. It happens through all gears but appears to only happen when I first start riding it for about 5-10 minutes after which time it runs fine.

Before I take it in to a mechanic I was hoping to get some opinions so I can haev a look myself as I love to get my hands dirty and want to learn more about the bike.

All help much appreciated :)

2. First problem to check, your head in buying a Hyo .. lol (overseas hey?) lol
    Sorry, mate ... cant resist.!
    Basically sounds like you either have a fuel flow prob or could also be something as simple as fouled plugs! And judging that it starts to run fine after it warms up, I would suggest to check them first.
  3. Do you warm the bike up before you ride it?
  4. Haha thats alright mate, its something for me to learn on and build my confidence before heading up to some real machines :)

I'll have a look at the plubs tonight, I got my hands on a manual so time to get my hands dirty :D

I always let it idle for 5ish minutes before I jump on but even then it still coughs, it seems to settle down after its been going for about 5 minutes....
  5. Sounds like it just takes a while to warm up honestly...