Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bike auctions..!

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by fastkid, Feb 7, 2007.

1. Hey guyz and girls,

Been looking at possible upgrades between suzuki, honda, yamy and kawa. I want a 0.6 - 1 litre bike in the supersport class. Been really liking the R1's and have test ridin one. However im a cheap ass.

Im a student with little 2 no money and of course want a sweet deal. Not to the point I get ripped off mind you. Does anyone know of any bike auctions around Melbourne or inner country areas where I can buy this type of bike from. I wanna get a fuel injected model preferably.

Oh and by the way my budget is around 6 - 7k Maybe 8 if I squeeze work for shifts :wink:

Thanks folks!

Steve :grin:
  2. I'm no help on the auctions.
    but just a thought. If you're still a student and your budget is tight...
    I'd call around and get some insurance quotes before commiting to a bike.

They can come back with some rude numbers for supersports insurance to people under 25.
  3. Yeh just want to point out that comprehensive insurance for an R1 at your age is around $9000 pa.
  4. Not taking into account insurance, the smaller the bike the cheaper it is to run also. From someone that has a litre bike, go the 600. The litres cost a heap to maintain and if your on any type of a budget then you will be constantly chasing your tail trying to find money to spend on general maintenance for the bike.

I have a feeling you may also be stretching your budget already if you want a fuel injected model. Most of the earliest fuel injected models were around 2001.