Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

bike advice needed for learner

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by stu123, Mar 22, 2008.

1. hey guys how's it going? ok so i'm a complete and utter noob when it comes to bikes so i thought i had better ask for the advice of some of you experienced riders.

I just got my L's and am very keen to get myself a learner legal bike. I am looking at getting one of the following:

Honda VT250 Spada
    Honda VTR250
    Honda CB250 (this is the same as the hornet 250 right?)

Kawasaki ZR250 Balius

Suzuki GS500

I;m sure you guys get asked this every day but any advice on which bikes are better and why would be very highly appreciated.

im hoping to spend less than $3,500 but would probably go up to 4 if i really had to.
  2. GS if u can afford one but problay not goes good handles good lots of power
    Go the spada awsome bike, handles excelanta good power
    VTR not sure u can afford one but if u do good choice
    CB250 too slow dont handle well, relible and cheap

Hornet is a naked cbr250 from memory no many around
    NFI on the baluise naked fzr250? no many around get a mech check if u get the hornet or balus they get expensive if they break down being 12+yr old i4 250's
  3. What sort of riding are you planning to do? How long are you intending to keep the bike? You can currently get a brand new Yamaha Scorpio OTR for $3990. See what I reckon at the end of the Scorpio thread in the 'Reviews' forum.
  4. just commuting around the city, might ride it from sydney to blue mountains etc but nothing farther than that, thanks man ill check out the thread you mentioned now. what do you think the resell value on the scorpio would be though? because ill probably want to resell it in a year