Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bike advice for utter noob

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by mattcole, May 24, 2006.

1. Hi,

I'm basically completely new to bikes, I'm doing my L's on Sunday. I'm obviously looking to pick up a bike to ride, have sort of decided on a zzr or a gpx (I'm in tassie, we have to have 250s).

I went to look at a bike the other night, it was a 96 zzr with around 40k on it for $3k. The problem with it was that he had dropped it and the fairing was cracked where the indicator is, and the indicator was basically currently stuck on with black tape. He said he got a quote to replace that part of the fairing for $900 :eek: He'd been riding it as it was and there was no worries with stuff falling off or whatever, it's more just that it looks trash. Poor guy dropped it the first day he had it he said.

I'm just wondering if that's a big deal or not, or basically it's just a matter of if you can handle riding a bike that has tape on it :D I'm sort of hoping that I could just glue (or something similar) the indicator on instead, but I'm not 100% sure if that will be possible or not.

2. $900 sounds a bit pricey, you should be able to fix a cracked fairing and indicator for less than that. Find a repairer yourself and remove and replace the panel yourself - save on labour. Probably less than half that to get it fixed properly.

Or just glue and tape and cable tie it together. Nothing wrong with that.

What else is damaged? Has the exhaust got much of a mark on it? Handle bars and foot pegs are ok? Mirror? Tank?

Being a beginner you may find you have a small spill or two yourself as you learn to handle the bike. Maybe a cheaper one with a few scratches is a good idea.