Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bigger Bikes

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by nodz, Jun 29, 2005.

1. I'm a noob and never been on a bigger bike.

What's the main difference between riding a small bike (250cc) and bigger bike (600cc+)?

I understand, the difference in if you give one a kick in the guts nothing happens and the other you might get your arms ripped off (although it does depend a little on the bike being ridden) but what are the main differences, if any?

What needs to change in terms of riding technique (apart from correcting for things like increased speed etc?
  2. Extra weight & slow steering are the biggies. The extra power isn't really that bad until you rev it HARD as most modern bikes are generally quite friendly to ride (even gixxer thous & such can be pootled around quite easily).

80's strokers, with killer powerbands are a different story entirely, & those weird turbo experimental thingies from the same era should be avoided by all but the most insane.
  3. basically just gotta be a bit smoother and more committed to what your doing. jerk on the brakes with twin 4 pot brakes and you'll lock up, not so nasty on a single 2 pot CB brake i'd imagine. and yeah, when taking a corner, its not as easy to correct your lines or rub off some speed etc.

so many things, too hard to remember :? take your time to get used to it and you'll be fine IMO....
  4. The biggest difference I found going to a 600 is that you don't feel like the bike is going to crash all the time... :LOL: