Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Bigger Bike

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Owen, Oct 12, 2006.

1. Just wondering how many of you bought a bike bigger than 250cc when you were still restricted, which of you got caught, and how much trouble you got in.

Ive been riding for about 14 months and still have ages left til my R-date, am really tempted to upgrade anyway.

2. i dont know how the licensing laws work in adelaide but maybe you should just stick it out. your not any more special than anyother rider out there.

every1 has had to go through restrictions, its a part of the biking life.
  3. I say stick with the Zeal..unless you have all your riding skills all patted down else you're just getting power hungry..we all crave more power

Oh go look at insurance...that's a REAL big put off...until you're 25 and over anyway or you're loaded
  4. Yah but its kinda annoying seeing as im originally from darwin, and in darwin you can just do one 8hour andvanced course and you are automatically unrestricted.
  5. insurance stinks.
  6. I got my L's in August 2005. In February 2006 I got a) my R-Date licence and b) a Honda Hornet 600, which I can't ride due to restrictions.
    I have ridden it a total of twice, both times no further than round the block.

Basicly you're not covered by insurance if you have an accident on a bike you cannot legally ride. if you do intend to buy a bigger bike early I suggest you do what I did - start modifying it so you're not tempted to ride it.
  7. Move back to Darwin, problem solved!!!

I do understand where your coming from and can only agree with the others advice, do your time under R's and you will come to appreciate the bigger bike more and probably respect it much more.